Duffey Named Mr. Texas Football


ENN Staff

Jett Duffey on the sidelines at AT&T Stadium in Arlington during 2015 state playoff action.

Adding to his post season accolades, Lake Ridge quarterback Jett Duffey accepted the prestigious Mr. Texas Football award during a ceremony at the AdvoCare100 Texas Bowl at NRG Stadium in Houston on Dec. 29.

Appearing on the same field where the Eagles lost in the 5A DI football championship a few weeks prior, Duffey was recognized as the Texas High School Player of the Year in the state of Texas.

According to a TexasFootball.com report, former winners of the award include Browns quarterback and 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), star Texas running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Chicago Bears running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and Oakland Raiders quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Texas A&M quarterback Kyler Murray took home the award in 2013 and 2014.

Fans, coaches and players voted for the state’s player of the week each week during the high school season by going to TexasFootball.com and AdvoCareTexasBowl.com. Each weekly winner was announced online on each of the voting sites and their social media pages. All of the weekly winners were nominated for the Player of the Year award, according to TexasFootball.com.

Earlier in the month, Duffey, who is set to play at Texas Tech in 2016, accepted the Tom Landry Award, given annually to the top player in North Texas.

During Lake Ridge’s 5A undefeated run which ended with 56-0 loss to George Ranch in the Class 5A Division I championship game in Houston Dec. 18, Duffey passed for 2,680 yards and 29 touchdowns and rushed for 1,667 yards and 20 touchdowns.